Cédric Ygnace

Ballet Master

Cédric Ygnace

Born in France, Cédric Ygnace graduated from Académie de Danse Classique – Princesse Grace de Monaco de Marika Besobrasova on The John Gilpin Scholarship. He danced with Les Ballets de Monté-Carlo (1996-1998) and from 1998 to 2012 with Dutch National Ballet as a Principal Dancer. His repertoire includes Principal roles in Swan Lake (Rudi van Danzig), The Sleeping Beauty (Sir Peter Wright), The Nutcracker (Wayne Eagling/Toer van Schayk), La Syphide (Dinna Bjørn), Onegin (J. Cranko), Cinderella (Sir Frederick Ashton), A Midsummer Night’s Dream (Sir Frederick Ashton), Giselle (Maina Gielgud, Beaujean/Bustamente), La Bayadere (N. Makarova), Don Quixote (A Ratmansky), Nijinsky (K. Pastor), Don Giovanni (K. Pastor) and Petroushka by Michel Fokine.

Cédric has danced in a vast range of Balanchine ballets including Apollon Musagete, Agon, Concerto Barocco, Donizzetti Variations, La Valse, Rubies, Emeralds, Diamond, Square Dance, Serenade, Symphony in C, Symphony in Three Movements, The Four Temperaments, Theme and Variations, The Prodigal Son, Tchaikovsky pas de deux and Violin Concerto.

Cédric has also been invited to perform as a Guest Artist at a number of international galas and companies and has worked with international choreographers such as; Ted Brandsen, Caroline Carlson, Nacho Duato, William Forsythe, Martha Graham, Jean-Christophe Maillot, Maguy Marin, Hans Van Manen, Mark Morris, Krzyztof Pastor, Alexey Ratmansky, Jerome Robbins, Twyla Tharp and since 1998, extensively with David Dawson.

Cédric was awarded the Prix de Lausanne in 1996, Gold medal at Rieti Competition in 1996, Danza & Danza prize in 1996, Espoir De La Danse International in 1996, Alexandra Radius Prize in 2004 and the Golden Swan Award in 2009.