Guest Ballet Master – Cedric Ygnace


Since the beginning of 2016, WAB’s audiences may have noticed a particular face popping up in various photos across the company’s social media profiles and wondered who it might be. Well, we Cedric Ygnaceare proud to finally announce it’s the face of the talented Cedric Ygnace who has joined us as Guest Ballet Master.


Cedric first came on board as a guest teacher for the company in 2015, during which he was snapped up by WAB’s education department to teach a Learning From the Masters workshop. He will be working with us through to the end of Genesis in June.


View his impressive biography below.





Cedric Ygnace was born in 1978 in France. He graduated from Académie de danse classique Princesse Grace de Monaco de Marika Besobrasova on “The John Gilpin Scholarship”. He danced with Les Ballets de Monté-Carlo (1996-1998) and from 1998 till 2012 with Dutch National Ballet as a Principal Dancer.


His repertoire includes full length roles: Swan Lake (Rudi van Danzig), Sleeping Beauty (Sir Peter Wright), Nutcracker (Wayne Eagling / Toer van Schayk), La Syphide (Dina Bjorn), Onegin (J. Cranko), Cinderella (Sir Frederick Ashton), A Midsummer Night’s Dream (Sir Frederick Ashton), Giselle (Maina Gielgud, Beaujean/ Bustamente), La Bayadere (N. Makarova), Don Quixote (A Ratmansky), Nijinsky (K. Pastor), Don Giovanni (K. Pastor) and Petroushka by Michel Fokine.


Cedric has danced in a vast range of Balanchine ballets including Apollon Musagete, Agon, Concerto Barocco, Donizzetti Variations, La Valse, Rubies, Emeralds, Diamond, Square dance, Serenade, Symphony in C, Symphony in Three Movements, The Four Temperaments, Theme and Variations, The Prodigal Son, Tchaikovsky pas de deux and Violin Concerto.


Cedric has also been invited to Guest Artists at a number of International Galas and companies.


He has worked with a number of international choreographers such as: Ted Brandsen, Caroline Carlson, David Dawson, Nacho Duato, William Forsythe, Martha Graham, Jean-Christophe Maillot, Maguy Marin, Hans Van Manen, Mark Morris, Krzyztof Pastor, Alexey Ratmansky, Jerome Robbins and Twyla Tharp and since 1998, worked extensively with David Dawson.


Cedric was awarded the Prix de Lausanne in 1996, Gold medal at Rieti Competition in 1996, Danza & Danza prize in 1996, Espoir de la danse International in 1996, Alexandra Radius Prize in 2004 and the Golden Swan Award in 2009.